Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Support Us

Top Posters

My Zorin Complaint

I think I've said this before but I'm really new to Linux. However I've been playing around and using Zorin and Ubuntu for almost a year. In that time frame I've noticed some things that really bother me. I feel like a lot of people assume that I know more then I actually do. Or maybe the commenters have become lazy. I don't blame you for that, there is so much out there and it's hard to answer all the posts. But sometimes I just want a simple answer for an issue and the commenter decides that it would just be easier for them to give me a link some information and move on. That's well in good if the blog or article really answers my question. But in Linux it looks like all those blogs are full of additional information (too much information). What at first seemed like a simple problem with a simple fix has become a huge problem of wading through countless words and sub links just to find what it is I'm looking for. The Sad story of this is, I can wipe the OS and Re install it quicker then I can find what I need, comprehend it, and solve the problem. I am a long ways away from being able to build an Arch System. I've been hearing a lot about Systems like Arch, and I always feel like "I wish I could do something like that" But a little issue like this tells me that Arch will always be over my head. :(

I can't say it with confidence. But I think my issue is with a glitch in AWN

Comments

• pdqpdq Administrator
    Heya gregoryforlinux, I watched your video and read some of your recent posts here. While I'm happy you have taken the leap to linux I'm unhappy about some of your bad experiences. Having never used Zorin nor seeing it used very often in the community I cannot and do not recommend that distro to anyone. I would maybe suggest trying Linux Lite or Linux Mint. :)