Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Support Us

Top Posters

Hello from a Newbie Linux Lite user

Hello all. Just heard of Linux Lite last night and decided to try it for an older machine I have. To say the least, I was impressed. I have a couple of old P4 machines I have been playing with linux on and Linux Lite is what I have been looking for! This is the first distro I have found that looks decent, is actually responsive on a 1.7G P4 with 1Gb Ram, and has a nice interface. Configuration is pretty intuitive as well compared to most distros I have tried.

Although I have been playing with linux for a couple of years, I am a newbie. It just took 1 evening of Linux Lite to make me decide to wipe my server of Linux Mint and go with Linux Lite. Why all distros have to be super rustic and bare or overly bloated I do not know, but it took the Kiwi's to get it right! (No offense intended). This distro is based on what I always thought Linux was trying to accomplish - clean, fast, easy to use, and low on resources. Most mainstream distros I have tried far surpass Windows in bloat, resource requirements, and hardware requirements. Of the 30 or so flavors I have tried over the past year, this is so far my favorite by far! It runs as fast on my 1.7G P4 with 1Gb of ram as Windows 7 has on my dual core 2.2 machine with 4gb of ram.

Comments

• Welcome to the community! Your not the only one with some old machines!