Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Support Us

Top Posters

Advice for Debian Unstable

I'm interested in trying out Semplice Linux which is based on Debian's Unstable branch. Semplice Linux is pretty lightweight. But the main problem for me is it being based on Debian's Unstable branch. I have no experience with Debian's Unstable branch and have no idea how stable it actually is. Do you guys have advice you could give about maintaining a Debian Unstable based distro?

Comments

• binbin Registered
    The clue is in the name............:wink:

Brilliant for playing and learning - I've run with unstable based versions and only had occasional pain. I would not run it on a machine that is needed for day to day reliability such as a family computer.

Take a look at their forum - see what sort if issues have come up in the past. If you are happy then go ahead. The only way to learn is to do it.......
  • retroretro Registered
    I currently run Aptosid (previously Sidux) and Siduction (both Debian unstable "SID" branch) as my personal and family machines.
    In addition I put both my parents and mother-in-law's machines on Aptosid.
    In over two years with Aptosid and less than a year with Siduction, I've only had about 3 (very minor) issues...
    • Some Recursive Dependencies (Aptosid, easily fixed)
    • A video display problem (Aptosid, temp fix, resolved over a short time)
    • A cups problem (Siduction, resolved over a short time)

In my situation, the advantages of the unstable branch far outway the possible technical issues encountered, so IMHO it's fine for everyday use.
    Your situation may be different, so you will have to weigh the advantages and disadvantages against each other, but at least you have a sample failure rate now
  • retro wrote:
    I currently run Aptosid (previously Sidux) and Siduction (both Debian unstable "SID" branch) as my personal and family machines.