Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Support Us

Top Posters

Root password

Hi guys,
i'm new to the wonderful world of linux and i have a slight problem.
For the life of me i can't figure out my root password! when installing Linux Lite I was promted to enter a password so i used 123456. but when i tried to carry out a super user command this password didn't work. I then checked the forums to find a work-around and tried to drop to the root command however when i did this, it again asked for a password. :-/ This has me very confused as from the threads that i've read the root is not password protected by default!

Any help anyone can offer would be greatly appricated!

Best Regards,
Liam

Comments

• Can you log in with the user password 123456? It should work with sudo then.

But...if you want to try resetting your passwords, try the steps below. I would recommend resetting both root and the user passwords.

1. Hold down the "shift" key while booting linux lite so that the grub menu appears.

2. Once the menu is up, select the first linux lite entry and press 'e' to edit.

3. look for a staement that starts with "linux". use your arrows keys to drop to the statement, and then go to the end of the statement. My statement is actually "2 lines" deep, so make sure you are at the end of the statement. On my machine, the last word in the statement is $vt_handoff.

4. type the following at the end of the statement 'init=/bin/bash' (no quotes when you type)

5. press F10 to boot. You should drop into a limited bash shell command prompt, but you will be logged in as root.

6. The filesystem is mounted read only, and we need to remount as writable. Issue the following command:
    # mount -n -o remount,rw /

7. you can now change passwords with the passwd command. to change the root password, do this
    # passwd